‘Disability has its perks!” I say.

What?” my father asks.  He can’t believe I just said that.

It’s kind of a running joke of mine.  Just like the statement that I finally found a way out of nine-to-five.  And it’s true.  And hey, if I can joke about it, shouldn’t everyone be able to?

But my father’s money, along with decent Social Security Disability Income payments, allows me to live alone at the beach.  In other words, he’s not laughing.

I’m grateful to be able to live where I choose.  But I’m also grateful to finally be living my dream.  And let’s face it.  If I hadn’t become disabled, I’d still be toiling away at some well-paying corporate job I hated and fantasizing about being a writer.

Don’t get me wrong.  I think I’d rather walk.  But that’s what I mean when I say disability has its perks.  There’s usually always a bright side.  Yours doesn’t have to be quite as dramatic.  Just look for it.

