Plan more than you can do, then do it.

Bite off more than you can chew, then chew it.

Hitch your wagon to a star, keep your seat, and there you are.

~Unknown

                                                                                                                                                                       I first heard the term “blog-versary” when a writing pal, Mary, celebrated the five year mark of her blog, Random Thoughts. Five years. I can’t even fathom.

I started this blog roughly one year ago, against all wise advice to the contrary. I had, still have, a book to finish. I’m sure I’d have been finished by now if I wasn’t spending half my writing time here. More really, if you count thinking time (and I do.) My biggest struggle has always been the thinking, dreaming up ideas. One year. That’s 52 blog topics to come up with.

Luckily, I never looked at it that way. I just jumped in. I think that’s what you have to do. Don’t dip your toe in to find out the water is freezing or you’ll stand there shivering in dreaded anticipation. Just jump. Don’t think about it too much. Or fear may stop your forward progress. Have a little faith.

You’ve heard it before. Leap and the net will appear. I love that.

I also love this quote about writing by E.L. Doctorow that can be applied to any risk-taking in life. “Writing a novel is like driving a car at night. You can see only as far as your headlights, but you can make the whole trip that way.” Writing a blog is like driving a car at night, too. When things are flowing smoothly, I have topics planned two or three weeks ahead. It gets more nerve wracking during the week before a Sunday when I haven’t a clue.  For example, when I wrote the post “Material,” I had no idea what to write about until my wheelchair fell off the back of Mom’s jeep a few days prior. See? No use worrying. I should’ve had faith that this little disaster would occur.

The commitment of a weekly deadline has got me thinking like a writer. I go through life always on the lookout, always observing, trying to see the humor in any situation. That’s not a bad way to go through life. I’m also more likely to accept an invitation or take a risk because at the very least, I may get a blog post out of it.

There are other benefits, too. (Writers, listen up.) It’s great practice. You can fine-tune technique, work on style, or find your voice. And no one can deny there’s great satisfaction to be had in building an audience. Last week, I had someone subscribe to my blog in Thailand. Thailand. How cool is that? It feels a bit too presumptuous and egotistical calling you all fans, so I’ll call you my loyal readers. And your number is growing.

So, don’t worry about where the money is coming from, just plan the vacation. It doesn’t make sense to stop painting the picture because you don’t know where you’ll hang it. And don’t stay at that dead-end job just because you don’t have another one. Oh wait — that one’s sound. But you get the idea. Just leap.

