O’Keefe, Poppy

Nobody sees a flower – really – it is so small it takes time – we haven’t time – and to see takes time, like to have a friend  takes time.

~Georgia O’Keefe (1887-1986)

I’ve been thinking about friendship and looking through old pictures. My best friend has a birthday coming up and I’m making her a surprise. I won’t say what it is, though I shouldn’t worry. She never reads my blog. With three young boys, I can hardly blame her. (Notice I said hardly. I do blame her a tiny bit.)

Do we look like we arrived together?

We’ve been friends for 30 years now. As friends we’ve seen each other through divorce, disability and the tumultuous teens. There were fights over boys that neither of us remember the names of.  She kissed the boy I carried a torch for. I left with her prom date. (Hey, it was junior high! I think his mom drove. Not exactly a scandal.) We’ve weathered the storms and survived the inevitable falling outs.

Lifetime friends do that.

With Michele, 1984
