I have a serious case of the lazies. If I could wish myself into this picture, I would. 1Seriously though, the view’s not bad from the pool in the backyard. And there’s something about an afternoon thunderstorm that’s perfect for napping. So, in honor of Friday’s official start to summer, I hope you’ll enjoy these summertime quotes. I couldn’t decide on just one — it’s like a whole field of sunflowers.

And so with the sunshine and the great bursts of leaves growing on the trees, just as things grow in fast movies, I had that familiar conviction that life was beginning over again with the summer.

~F. Scott Fitzgerald

 Deep summer is when laziness finds respectability.
  ~Sam Keen
A perfect summer day is when the sun is shining, the breeze is blowing, the birds are singing, and the lawn mower is broken. 

~James Dent3

 In the depth of winter, I finally learned that within me there lay an invincible summer.

~Albert Camus

What good is the warmth of summer, without the cold of winter to give it sweetness.

~John Steinbeck

There shall be eternal summer in the grateful heart.

  ~Celia Thaxter2

 It’s a cruel season that makes you get ready for bed while it’s light out.
~Bill Watterson

Rest is not idleness, and to lie sometimes on the grass on a summer day listening to the murmur of water, or watching the clouds float across the sky, is hardly a waste of time.

~John Lubbock 4

 

