dahlia1I don’t want to be one of those people that start something and never finish it. I do make a lot of the same New Year’s resolutions year after year, but I usually end up doing whatever it is I’ve resolved to do — eventually.

Of course, I don’t want the “soul space” I’m creating (and blogged about last week) to take that long. So I’m writing about my progress to keep myself accountable. And it’s interesting to find that when you take small steps towards the thing you want, your goal often meets you halfway. Opportunities come about and doors open up, as if the universe is in complete cooperation with you.

Last week, a friend just happened to have a book she loaned me that tells you exactly how to construct a raised flower bed. And what flowers grow where. Next, someone helped me set up wireless speakers, so I can hear music all over the house. Then, I got an invitation to a party that introduced a friend’s new business, which just happens to be all about making your space smell great. The line of all natural, soy-based wax “sprinkles” are perfect for me, because they melt in an electric simmer pot (for those of you worried about me burning the house down.) I chose the scents of Coffee Buzz, Ooey Gooey Caramel, and Spiced Vanilla. But there are also scents like Warm Apple Pie and Fresh Raspberry. Sweet. Or I should say, yum.

So, progress is being made. My writing coach said something fitting last week that struck me as profound. She said, “What you want, wants you.” It’s wonderful to start operating under this priniciple. I believe we all have a creative side that yearns to do something. Even if it’s been buried or you’re not currently doing it. You don’t have to be an artist in the obvious way. I think even the most repressed accountants have dreams of learning to play the guitar. (Sorry, accountants. Maybe your dream has always been to work with numbers, but I kind of doubt it.) So join me as I dig in the dirt surrounded by my favorite coffeehouse scents. What have you always wanted? Take a step toward it. It may meet you halfway.

Surrounded by the sweetest things: good friends and good scents
Surrounded by the sweetest things: good friends and good scents

Save

