hb2I’ve always hated my December birthday. Combo gifts, birthday presents wrapped in Christmas paper and a general “two birds with one stone” approach to what was supposed to be My Special Day always left me feeling gypped.

I never got this treatment from my family, mind you, but from those people a kid cares about most from the onset of school straight through to graduation — other kids.  Actually, it wasn’t so much that they celebrated my birthday with Christmas in so much as they ignored it altogether. Kids born during summer months might have experienced the same thing. Question: If a birthday falls during a school vacation, does it exist? Answer: Not really.

There are gripes as an adult, too. You can’t have a party because everyone’s out of town. That or your party falls on the same night as some holiday affair or other. In general, everyone’s partied out. And they’re too full, hungover, stressed out or broke to come to your party, so don’t even try.

As you can tell, I’ve had some time to think about my opinion on the matter. My whole life, in fact. But this year, I’m changing my mind. I’ve decided to embrace my December birthday and all the years that come with it.

So, if you too were born on this month, there are several reasons to be happy about it.

For starters, you can and should eat whatever you want. The diet’s been blown since Thanksgiving anyway. And the holidays are just naturally chocked full of goodies. In what other month would you have chocolate rum balls in the fridge? Or a box of Russell Stover’s on hand — just in case somebody drops by?

As the years add on and “what I’m doing for my birthday” becomes less and less important, December is a great month full of activities. Instead of lamenting about spending another quiet night at home, there are plenty of holiday invites to choose from. The fact that it just so happens to be my birthday means there’s double the reason to celebrate.

I know of no other month with such great potential for goofing off. Three-day weekends, personal time and half-days galore. The 40-hour work week doesn’t stand a chance. And maybe it’s just because I’m a homebody, but the short days of December work for me too. I know I risk ridicule for saying this, but I like being curled up in my pajamas by five o’clock on a cold, rainy night. As a matter of fact, I’m writing this on a cold, rainy night and it’s 4:53 so I’ve got some changing to do. I’ll end with a quote that sums it up for my new, favorite month and great time to have a birthday.

“Blessed is the season which engages the whole world in a conspiracy of love.”

~Hamilton Wright Mabie

